Capstone Design

The College of Engineering, Design and Computing Capstone Design is a signature program across all five departments. Each engineering student takes the capstone course during their senior year. In this course, they design, build, analyze, protoype, test, and provide documentation for a product they have developed. 

Capstone Expo

Each spring, the college hosts a Capstone Expo, showcasing projects from all five departments. In the fall, the college hosts a design expo for civil engineering students whose capstone experience is only a semester long. Students present to a panel of industry and alumni judges, competing for cash prizes made possible by generous donations from Donald and Karen White. Projects are evaluated on innovation, quality of the product, and the impact of the design.

Why this matters to our students

  • Helps students to develop professional skills
  • Exposure to the design innovation process
  • Increases visibility for student work and outcomes
  • Connects students and sponsors for employment opportunities
  • Promotes cutting-edge design pedagogy
  • Enables interdisciplinary projects
  • Builds industry engagement across all departments

Saturday, May 7th

College of Engineering, Design and Computing

Senior Capstone Competition

10:00am to 3:00pm

Open to the public

9:00 am – 10:00 am – Check-in and Setup

Location: North Classroom Atrium (A, B, C, D) and Classrooms (1311, 1313, 1314, 1315, 1316)

EVENT BEGINS!

10:00 am -1:00 pm - Project Presentations

Location: North Classroom Atrium (A, B, C, D) and Classrooms (1311, 1313, 1314, 1315, 1316)

1:00 pm – 2:00 pm – Student and Guest Lunch

Location: Outside North Classroom 1130, Auditorium

1:00 pm – 1:45 pm - Judges Deliberation and Lunch

Location: North Classroom 1312

1:45 pm – 2:45 pm - Award Announcements

Location: North Classroom 1130, Auditorium

Winners - Spring 2022

CEDC CAPSTONE AWARDEE ANNOUCMENTS

 

Expo Overall Winners:

Cloud - $1,000

  1. Brenda Armendariz, brenda.armendariz@ucdenver.edu
  2. Tala Obeid, tala.obeid@ucdenver.edu
  3. Martha Olivas, martha.olivas-loera@ucdenver.edu

    Rocket Lynx IV - $1,000

    1. Andrew Waterhouse, Andrew.waterhouse@ucdenver.edu
    2. Yechan Kim, Yechan.2.kim@ucdenver.edu
    3. Lauren Galus, Lauren.galus@ucdenver.edu
    4. Yaya Haidara, Yaya.haidara@ucdenver.edu
    5. Arthur Manville, Arthur.manville@ucdenver.edu
    6. Ben Weiler, Benjamin.weiler@ucdenver.edu
    7. John Cuthbertson, John.cuthbertson@ucdenver.edu
    8. Alex Miramontes, Alejandro.miramontes@ucdenver.edu
    9. Eliyah Bales, Eliyah.bales@ucdenver.edu

      Bioengineering Expo Departmental Winner: 

      Chest Door - $500

      1. Abby Krohn, abby.krohn@cuanschutz.edu
      2. Carli Macejak, carli.macejak@ucdenver.edu
      3. Derek Garcia, derek.2.garcia@ucdenver.edu
      4. Laura Ramos, laura.ramos@ucdenver.edu

        A Method to Improve Recover - $500

        1. Elizabeth Korthals, elizabeth.korthals@ucdenver.edu
        2. Anthony DiSaverio, anthony.disaverio@cuanschutz.edu
        3. Areeb Khan, areeb.khan@ucdenver.edu

          Civil Engineering Expo Departmental Winner:

          Fehringer Ranch - $500

          1. Meshari Al Oudah, meshari.aloudah@ucdenver.edu
          2. Mansour Alkhulaifi, mansour.alkhulaifi@ucdenver.edu
          3. Ali Alqattan, ali.3.alqattan@ucdenver.edu
          4. Lilah Henderson, lilah.henderson@ucdenver.edu
          5. Timothy Pyle, timothy.pile@ucdenver.edu
          6. Jackson Winterrowd, jackson.winterrowd@ucdenver.edu

            Computer Science and Engineering Expo Departmental Winner:

            Wristy - $500

            1. Alexander Verkest, alexander.verkest@ucdenver.edu
            2. Tamila Husnetdinova, tamila.husnetdinova@ucdenver.edu

              Enabling Sleep Staging - $500

              1. Sarah Morgan, sarah.3.morgan@ucdenver.edu
              2. Muhammad Hussain, muhammad.hussain@ucdenver.edu
              3. Timothy Frymire, Timothy.frymire@ucdenver.edu

                Interdisciplinary Engineering Expo Departmental Winner:

                Pedestrian Safety - $500

                1. Janson Lansville , Janson.Lansville@ucdenver.edu
                2. Abdulwahab Al-Awadhi, Abdulwahab.Al-Awadhi@ucdenver.edu
                3. Abdulaziz Alrabah, Abdulaziz.Alrabah@ucdenver.edu
                4. Abdulaziz Alshmeri, Abdulaziz.Alshmeri@ucdenver.edu
                5. Nasser Al-Naimi , Nasser.Al-Naimi@ucdenver.edu
                6. Sarah Almejren, Sarah.Almejren@ucdenver.edu

                  ARFL Nav. System Team 2 - $500

                  1. Yareni Renteria, yareni.renteria@ucdenver.edu
                  2. Egduard Jauregui, egduard.jauregui@ucdenver.edu
                  3. Taylor Helt, taylor.helt@ucdenver.edu
                  4. Reed Goldberg, reed.goldberg-richmeier@ucdenver.edu
                  5. Taylor Kolar, taylor.kolar@ucdenver.edu

                    Mechanical Engineering Expo Departmental Winner:

                    Juno Rocketry - $500

                    1. Larry Reid, Larry.Reid@ucdenver.edu
                    2. Dante Sileo, Dante.Sileo@ucdenver.edu
                    3. Nathan Smith, Nathan.Smith@ucdenver.edu
                    4. Russell Reimann, Russell.Reimann@ucdenver.edu
                    5. Justin Redding, Justin.Redding@ucdenver.edu
                    6. Matthew Golubski, Matthew.Golubski@ucdenver.edu

                      Bioengineering

                      Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Aria Saunders

                      Outstanding Graduate Student: JaeAnn  Marie Dwulet

                       

                      Civil Engineering

                      Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Jackson Winterrowd

                      Outstanding Graduate Student: Steven Mathew Klawitter   

                       

                      Computer Science and Engineering

                      Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Dennis Blake Mills 

                      Outstanding Graduate Student: John David Pace   

                       

                      Interdisciplinary Engineering

                      Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Joseph John Gedney

                      Outstanding Graduate Student: Joshua Wewerka

                       

                      Mechanical Engineering

                      Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Kim Yechan

                      Outstanding Graduate Student: Jake Patrick Tinsley

                       

                      Silver Award Nominees

                      Aria Saunders, Bioengineering

                      Aston Martinez, Civil Engineering

                      Joseph Gedney, Electrical Engineering

                       

                      PROJECT SPONSORS

                      • DeNOVO Solutions
                      • Lockheed Martin
                      • AirForce Research Lab
                      • Adams County
                      • JBS |www.jbsfoodsgroup.com
                      • South Platte Renew
                      • Impressio

    Awards Pic1small

     

    Awards Pic small

    2022 Capstone Expo

    May 7, 2022

    10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
    North Classroom Building